top of page

Keep checking this page to see new workshops as they're added!

2023 AGENDA

  • Schedule subject to change.

  • Workshops listed with a VIP symbol are for VIP ticket-holders only.

SATURDAY, 18 NOVEMBER

10:00 - 11:00 GMT
06:00 - 07:00 ET   |   03:00 - 04:00 PT

Writers Hubfest Speaker Banner - Hannah Kaner.png

Fight to Finish: Drafting Tactics and Techniques

Hosted by Hannah Kaner

Godkiller was Hannah's seventh book, her fourth to go on submission with an agent and her first to be published. In this interactive workshop she will demonstrate and then lead attendees on different approaches to completing their first draft in a way that works for them. She works as a senior consultant, and will use 12 years experience in running and managing workshops to ensure attendees go away with a confident approach to finishing their book. For first time and long time writers.

12:00 - 13:00 GMT
08:00 - 09:00 ET   |   05:00 - 06:00 PT

Hitting the Books: How to Research Your Novel

Hosted by JJA Harwood

When were pyjamas invented? What happens to the scene of a crime after you call the police? What, exactly, goes into the business of forging a sword? If you’ve ever had to google the answers to these kinds of questions halfway through a paragraph, then this is the workshop for you. Whether you’re writing historical fiction, police procedurals or fantasy, a well-researched novel will always stand out. Including authentic details will result in a more confident and assured work, regardless of genre. But if you don’t have personal experience to draw on, where do you start?

This workshop will walk you through how to research your novel, covering everything from how real-world knowledge can colour a fantasy world to how much of your hard work you actually need to include in the manuscript. Every writer is welcome!

14:00 - 15:00 GMT
10:00 - 11:00 ET   |   07:00 - 08:00 PT

Writers Hubfest Speaker Square Posts_edited.png

Romancing the Market

Hosted by Greer Rivers

How to write to market without abandoning your muse. We'll be analyzing two series: one written to market and one not; how to find what readers are looking for; universal fantasies that keep readers engaged; and using tropes and trends to steer your writing when writer's block strikes, rather than letting either control you.

16:00 - 17:00 GMT
12:00 - 13:00 ET   |   09:00 - 10:00 PT

Writers' Club

Hosted by Writers Hubfest Founder, Melissa Hawkes

Grab your work in progress and come along to the Writers' Club, an interactive 45-60 minute writing sprint hosted by Writers Hubfest Founder, Melissa Hawkes. Whether you want to chat with other writers in the chat, ask Melissa questions, or participate in the writing sprint. Use this session to practice what you've learnt.

18:00 - 19:00 GMT
14:00 - 15:00 ET   |   11:00 - 12:00 PT

Writers Hubfest Speaker Square Posts_edited.png
Writers Hubfest Speaker Banner - Sunyi Dean.png

Concept, Pitch, & Hook: Query Letter Deconstruction

Hosted by Sunyi Dean

Query letters are often the bane of aspiring authors, and viewed as a frustrating or unnecessary barrier between writers and agents. But in industry terms, a query letter is so much more than just a simple pitch to agents: it is a microcosm of publishing itself. Understanding queries is extremely helpful for understanding why and how books are picked up by publishers.

In this workshop, we'll explore what makes an effective query letter, and look at how queries can be used as a multipurpose tool for drafting, revision, commercial insight, and more. For authors who are already agented or on contract, we will also look at how queries can be used for pitching on proposal. In the interest of time, we will be primarily dissecting sample letters. But if you have any questions specific to your own queries, do feel free to ask!

20:00 - 21:00 GMT
16:00 - 17:00 ET   |   13:00 - 14:00 PT

Building Tension Into Your Opening Pages

Hosted by Edward Underhill

This workshop will explore how to craft an opening that will not only draw in your readers, but also lay the necessary groundwork for your story's central conflict. We'll discuss the purpose of tension, how to identify it, and how to use your protagonist's wants and needs (not just an external inciting incident) to build momentum for your book's opening, no matter what genre you write! Feel free to bring your WIP if you have one, as we'll do a few short exercises together.

22:00 - 23:00 GMT
18:00 - 19:00 ET   |   15:00 - 16:00 PT

Writers Hubfest Speaker Square Posts_edited.png

Writing Historical Fiction

Hosted by Amanda Glaze

00:00 - 01:00 GMT
20:00 - 21:00 ET   |   17:00 - 18:00 PT
Sunday 19th November for GMT viewers

Writers Hubfest Speaker Banner - Olesya Salnikova Gilmore.png

Worldbuilding in Fiction: The Magic of Details

Hosted by Olesya Salnikova Gilmore

The skill of worldbuilding is fundamental in the creation of any fictional world. It is what makes the novel and its setting come to life. And besides that, it's just a lot of fun to work on! While worldbuilding can be difficult to execute well, in my experience, it is thankfully a skill that can be taught and learned. I'd love to show you my approach to worldbuilding. In this workshop, we will go through my step by step guide to creating a world for your novel, whether it's fantasy, historical fiction, or another genre. I will also cover the following: worldbuilding questions that you should ask yourself at the beginning of the research and writing process, the worldbuilding tools and techniques that I have found most helpful, the rules and limitations that I suggest you think about in your worldbuilding, and key examples of unforgettable worldbuilding to get you started!

02:00 - 03:00 GMT
22:00 - 23:00 ET   |   19:00 - 20:00 PT
Sunday 19th November for GMT viewers

Writers Hubfest Speaker Square Posts_edited.png

The Thrill of the Chase: Writing

Immersive Action

Hosted by Maiya Ibrahim

Whether it’s a daring escape, suspenseful heist, sprawling magical battle, or intimate sword duel, learn how to make your reader feel like they’re right there experiencing the thrilling action for themselves. In this workshop, I’ll show you how I build different types of action scenes from the ground up, and how you can apply these same strategies to your own stories. 

SUNDAY, 19 NOVEMBER

10:00 - 11:00 GMT
06:00 - 07:00 ET   |   03:00 - 04:00 PT

Writers' Club

Hosted by Writers Hubfest Founder, Melissa Hawkes

Grab your work in progress and come along to the Writers' Club, an interactive 45-60 minute writing sprint hosted by Writers Hubfest Founder, Melissa Hawkes. Whether you want to chat with other writers in the chat, ask Melissa questions, or participate in the writing sprint. Use this session to practice what you've learnt.

12:00 - 13:00 GMT
08:00 - 09:00 ET   |   05:00 - 06:00 PT

How to Successfully Self-Publish Your Poetry Book

Hosted by Alyssa Harmon

Do you have a collection of poetry but are unsure what to do with it? Navigating the world of self-publishing can be confusing and overwhelming, especially for poets. However, it's possible to publish your work and be successful. Attend this webinar to learn all of the steps you need to follow to publish your poetry book and actually sell copies! 

14:00 - 15:00 GMT
10:00 - 11:00 ET   |   07:00 - 08:00 PT

Writers Hubfest Speaker Square Posts_edited.png

Unmuddle Your Middles: Plotting Using the Four-Act Structure

Hosted by Sarah Underwood

A beginners guide to outlining your novel using the four-act structure 

16:00 - 17:00 GMT
12:00 - 13:00 ET   |   09:00 - 10:00 PT

The Strategies Behind a Successful Book Launch

Hosted by Ricardo Fayet

We all know the importance of book launches. The more sales you can generate during the first 30 days of your book, the greater the algorithms of the various retailers will reward you. But for that to happen, you'll need a solid plan in place. In this workshop, you'll learn all the secret strategies that successful authors employ on their book launches — and how to apply them to your very next launch.

18:00 - 19:00 GMT
14:00 - 15:00 ET   |   11:00 - 12:00 PT

Writers Hubfest Speaker Square Posts_edited.png
Writers Hubfest Speaker Banner - E.J. Mellow.png

Make Me Bad: How to Write a Good Villain

Hosted by E.J. Mellow

We love to hate them. Villains, brutes, the big evil baddies—they are essential in any hero’s story. But more often than not, antagonists get the low hanging fruit when it comes to character development. This workshop will give writers the tools necessary to keep their antagonists from becoming one-dimensional clichés, helping to breathe more depth, nuance, stakes, and believability into a story.

20:00 - 21:00 GMT
16:00 - 17:00 ET   |   13:00 - 14:00 PT

Pairing Prose and Streamlining Scenes for a More Engaging Story

Hosted by Emily Thiede

With rising paper costs and shrinking attention spans, authors who can craft engaging prose without unnecessary fluff endear themselves to agents, editors andreaders. In this workshop we'll explore practical strategies for streamlining prose, trimming words, and making every line count so you can  hook readers and hold their attention until the very last page.

22:00 - 23:00 GMT
18:00 - 19:00 ET   |   15:00 - 16:00 PT

Writers Hubfest Speaker Square Posts_edited.png
Writers Hubfest Speaker Banner - Kate Heartfield.png

Revising Your Novel

Hosted by Kate Heartfield

So you have a first draft. Congratulations! This workshop will take you through a process for determining what needs to change, how to start and when to stop.

00:00 - 01:00 GMT
20:00 - 21:00 ET   |   17:00 - 18:00 PT
Monday 20th November for GMT viewers

How to Write & Publish a Series FAST!

Hosted by Brittany Wang

Are you a writer who dreams of self-publishing an addictive book series, but you're feeling overwhelmed, perpetually stuck on Book 1, and fearing you'll never see your dream come true? In this workshop I'll be sharing the 3-Step Strategy that not only helped me go from a struggling writer to the published author of a complete 6-book series in just 2.5 months (without sacrificing quality), but also helped me grow a readership of superfans, and jump-started my book income as a brand new author. If you're open to learning an innovative way to start your publishing career with a bang, you don't want to miss this class!

02:00 - 03:00 GMT
22:00 - 23:00 ET   |   19:00 - 20:00 PT
Monday
 20th November for GMT viewers

Writers' Club

Hosted by Writers Hubfest Founder, Melissa Hawkes

Grab your work in progress and come along to the Writers' Club, an interactive 45-60 minute writing sprint hosted by Writers Hubfest Founder, Melissa Hawkes. Whether you want to chat with other writers in the chat, ask Melissa questions, or participate in the writing sprint. Use this session to practice what you've learnt.

bottom of page